« Door into summer | Main | Restless spring »

Comments

fred maus

Paul, this could not be more beautiful and moving.

Mr Joe Johnson

Hello -

Forgive me for sending this message at what may appear to be a very late stage. I have only just learned of the sad loss of Vanessa.

I knew Vanessa throughout our secondary school years at Newlands School comprehensive in Middlesbrough. Vanessa was normally "quiet" though would stand fiercely for her opinions and her beliefs. Just the wrong "Look" from her was enough.

Upon rediscovering my old school friend via friends reunited, I emailed Vanessa. Her response as usual was warm. I was so elated at Vanessa's achievements since our leaving the old school.

And then I learn from a friend that Vanessa has so sadly passed on. Quite simply, I'm devastated at this sad news.

I would like to pass on my sincere thoughts and sympathies to those who have lost Vanessa - To David, to her family, to her friends . . . . and of course to anyone else who was touched from the brilliant experience in having known Vanessa.

With kind and sincere regards,
Joe Johnson

Shalini Chanda

I have only just learned about this sad sad news and I am devastated. I can't believe it has been more than three years since her death.

I remember Vanessa as one of the most inspirational, kind and loving people I have ever met. I was a student of hers from 1996-1999 and Vanessa and Chris Perriam awakened my love for Spanish film, culture and feminism.

You always remember your mentors and sources of inspiration from your youth and Vanessa was a truly brilliant woman in so many ways. It is because of Vanessa (and Chris - a wonderful partnership) that I went on to study Spanish in my Masters at Cambridge.

I lost touch with Vanessa soon after graduating in 1999 but I have never forgotten her - the spring in every step and the passion in everything she taught even when I could tell she was suffering. What she taught me was immeasurable.

To David, her family and her friends - my sincere condolences at the loss of a truly brilliant woman.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)

March 2024

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Become a Fan