« End | Main | Exasperate »

Comments

Ann

Dear V

and dear Paul, too. The idea that I can lose both of you is hard to bear. Sometimes we have to be the one that stays behind, not the one that moves on. And that can be so very painful to do.

V, my warm, generous, aggravating colleague, so very much alive - I cannot take it in that you have died. I try to describe what you mean to me and I can only come up with clichés, and that you don't deserve - there was nothing trite or mundane about you. So I won't try to describe it. I will just say that I grieve for you and am in pain at losing you, but grief is the price we pay for knowing and loving and being loved by people, and in your case it's a price worth paying.

Ann

Anahid

My friendship with V, like my friendship with you, first started in no small part on the terrain of incurable illness and how to live with it. I've been thinking, since V died, of how much such a sharing can matter, and of how great a loss I feel, even though our contact wasn't constant or massive. And I've thought of Philip, too... and of how their departures have left both me and the world diminished.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)

March 2024

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Become a Fan